Secondary education is divided into two cycles: Compulsory lower secondary education
(Lower Secondary School) and Non-compulsory upper secondary education (Upper Secondary School). General Compulsory Secondary Education is offered at the Lower Secondary School (Gymnasio). Attendance is of a three-year duration and includes the grades Α΄, Β΄ and C΄. Pupils attend a common curriculum for all subjects. There are neither braches of studies nor any specialization in a sector.